2017 AL Cy Young Odds: Boston’s Sale Favored

Open an Account at Bovada Sportsbook Now! Sign up at Bovada.lv to get up to a $250 Deposit Bonus and to bet all the Web’s best MLB Baseball odds and props!

Boston’s Rick Porcello took home the hardware last season as the American League Cy Young Award winner, but it’s his new teammate that sits atop the AL Cy Young betting odds heading into the 2017 season.

The Red Sox acquired Chris Sale from the Chicago White Sox in the offseason, and he’s listed as the +350 favorite on the 2017 AL Cy Young Award odds. The lanky lefty went a respectable 17-10 with a 3.34 ERA and 233 strikeouts for the White Sox last season, but Boston will be looking for him to get back to his stellar 2014 form (12-4, 2.17 ERA over his 26 starts).

Sale will be headlining a Red Sox rotation that also includes Porcello and David Price, who sits at +1600 on the 2017 AL Cy Young Award odds. Price went 17-9 with a 3.99 ERA and 228 strikeouts in his first season in Boston in 2016, with his ERA well above his career average of 3.21, but will begin the 2017 season on the disabled list nursing an elbow injury. Price won the AL Cy Young Award as a member of the Tampa Bay Rays back in 2012.

Porcello is further back on the list at +3300 as he looks to repeat as the AL Cy Young winner. The righthander went 22-4 with a 3.15 ERA and 189 strikeouts for the Red Sox in 2016, a big improvement from his 2015 season when he went 9-15 with a 4.92 ERA for Boston. Porcello has a career ERA of 4.20.


Second behind Sale on the 2017 AL Cy Young Award odds is Corey Kluber of the Cleveland Indians. The 2014 AL Cy Young winner holds down +450 odds for this season. Kluber followed up his 2014 Cy Young win by falling to 9-16 in 2015, but he bounced back for the American League Champions in 2016 with an 18-9 record and 3.14 ERA.

Next on the list are a trio of righthanders in Aaron Sanchez of the Toronto Blue Jays, Yu Darvish of the Texas Rangers, and Justin Verlander of the Tigers, tied at +1200 on the odds to win the 2017 AL Cy Young Award. Verlander, who won in 2011, went 16-9 with a 3.04 ERA with an AL-leading 254 strikeouts in 2016, but finished second behind Porcello in the voting for the award. Verlander actually had more first-place votes than Porcello (14-8), but the Red Sox starter beat him 137-132 overall causing a little controversy in the balloting process.

Chris Archer of the Tampa Bay Rays and Masahiro Tanaka of the New York Yankees are both at +1400 odds, with Carlos Carrasco of the Indians at +1600. Cole Hamels of the Rangers, Felix Hernandez of the Seattle Mariners, and Dallas Keuchel of the Houston Astros are next at +2000. Hernandez won the AL Cy Young award in 2010, and Keuchel was the 2015 winner.